manuscript prep. advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

propsych

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi there, I'm currently beginning the process or co-authoring 4 manuscripts with my PI and other RAs and would like to know if anyone has any tips on being efficient and a general "how to" on manuscript writing. I decided to take an extra year before applying to grad school just to work on all of these papers and maybe join another lab, so I really want to get all of this done within the next 6 months or so.

For example: I see that certain labs publish 5 or more papers in a single year (how is this possible? It seems like a very life/time consuming endeavor or maybe this is normal and I'm simply too new at this) with grad students as first authors on a few of them. Are my anticipated submission dates realistic? I have never done this before, and all of a sudden, boom, I'm writing 4. How much time should I allow myself to write? Is there a method or scheduling of writing that you have found helpful? How do you do this and also juggle a job/social life etc? When should I expect them to be accepted/ published? What happens if i write and write and then get rejected from a journal? Can I try submitting somewhere else? Am I biting off more than I can chew "realistically" or is this amount normal? I know I am new to this, but I a quite determined and everyone has to start sometime, right? Please feel free to offer any tips beyond my questions.

Also, how do you decide on a journal to submit to? How do you judge which one is the best fit and has a good chance of accepting you?

Here is a breakdown of the papers and a rough timeline of when I'd like each to be done.