Managing use of Doctor title for Psychologist

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Psychfemine22

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I am a mid-career psychologist who recently switched jobs to an AMC. At my previous jobs at a community mental health center and small private hospital, I was referred by my first name or Dr. X, as title went along with the workplace culture--either all the psychologist and psychiatrist were referred to as Dr. X or everyone was referred to by their first name. However, upon switching to the AMC, I noticed some administrative staff, all master-level clinicians, and most psychiatrists refer to psychologists by their first name and psychiatrist via Dr. honorific . I wonder, is this normal practice at AMC’s? Anyone else dealt with this? For me, it’s not the Dr. title that matters the most, but it does bother me that staff/other clinicians acknowledge the doctoral training of medical professionals but not the psychology profession. Am I overreacting here?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Call me Dr in front of patients. Call me first name when they aren’t around.

Psychiatrists tend to be more touchy about this stuff and there prolly a track history of them biching ppl out over it. Projection.

Reactions: 5 users
In my experience, the places with more midlevel therapists are the ones who are most likely to try and get away with that. The medical people such as RN’s and MD’s are the ones to gently correct first and then eventually the counselors and social workers will reluctantly have to cave. We absolutely should fight for the title as we owe it to each other, our field, our bank accounts, and our patients. For myself personally it doesn’t mean much beyond helping with marketing and it still feels a little awkward sometimes.

Reactions: 6 users
Members don't see this ad :)