Majors?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dsalcedo1015

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
hey i'm new to this forum but i'm sure that should be obvious enough by what i am going to ask. i've decided that i want to become an optometrist but i would like to know what majors you guys took before you went into optometry school. like, what field did you receive a bachelor's degree in? i would just like some input or advice.

i'm at a community college right now but i plan on eventually transferring to cal state fullerton and then eventually to SCCO right across the street. it would be cool to know what would be a good area to receive a bachelors in that way i can have a decent job while in optometry school.

so yea,

Members don't see this ad.

Optometry schools take a wide array of majors but the most common are Biology and Chemistry. Personally, I'm majoring in Biology. Request info or call the school that you would like to attend and speak with them about what they value and what betters the chances of you getting accepted.

I'm a bio major myself, but I've heard of art majors getting into opt school too (but it's pretty rare lol). It's good to have a solid foundation in your pre-reqs, so people sometimes just major in bio because it just coincides with the pre-reqs. If you decide not to go for a science major, just make sure your science grades are decent! They reteach subjects when you get to optometry school, but a good background is always nice! :)

Members don't see this ad :)
I have an Anthropology degree...yeah, random, I know, but I love that stuff. It was a B.S. major (double entendre) so there was a lot of biology involved, and so it actually helped out a lot with almost all of the prereqs.