M4 deciding between ophtho and anesthesia

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

premedeq

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all,

I'm an M4 deciding whether to pursue anesthesia or ophtho. I'm pretty confident I would be able to match well in either specialty (T30 med school, honors on all rotations, AOA, step1 in 260s, step 2 in 270s, no red flags). I feel like I owe it to myself to apply to a competitive specialty (ophtho) to guarantee my future self job security but from my experience as a medical student, I really prefer anesthesia. I would love to hear some perspectives. Here are some pros and cons to organize my thoughts:

Ophtho Pros:
-surgical specialty without much scope creep from midlevels. Plus, residency positions have been pretty stable so not a lot of saturation within the field either.
-continuity with patients- not something that I value a ton now, but maybe someday I will

Ophtho Cons:
- lots of clinic, somehow a 12-hour day in the OR seems much shorter than an 8-hour day in clinic. And from what I've seen, most attendings spend 3-4 days in clinic (academic med center)
- Repetitive surgeries- again, my perspective from just observing in an academic med center, but it seems like the attendings I've worked with only do one type of surgery (cataracts, blephs), over and over again. I'm sure a lot of my perspective here is due to shadowing vs doing (much more shadowing on ophtho, much more doing on anesthesia rotations)

Anesthesia Pros:
- mix of medicine (pulm and cardio are both really interesting to me) and procedures
- the ability to do locums, pick up and move around the country without having to build up a patient base
- shift work
- I really enjoyed my time on anesthesia

Anesthesia Cons: