M1 with possible pregnant fiancee.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DrDewgong

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok, my fiancee may be pregnant. We're getting married this summer, but she's a foreigner (not in the U.S. right now), so right now I'm working on the immigration process. By the time she gets to the U.S. she'll 8mo. pregnant, and won't be legally able to work for probably another 90 days until she gets a temporary work visa---not that she'll be in any condition to work.
Basically, I'm a penniless student living on loans. How the hell do I pay for the expected hospital bills, much less get her insured before delivery of the child? And in this economic climate? I have no undergrad debt or personal debt besides M1 school loans, but I also have no credit cards, nor credit history. I've been applying for credit cards since October, but I keep getting rejected because of a lack of open accounts. I only have a checking account to my name, though I'm working on opening an online savings account. But I'm on a tangent.....Got any advice?

Oh, by the way, my fiancee is on the pill, and has been for the 4 years we've been together. So much for 98%....Anyway, she doesn't really want to be pregnant, and is hinting at maybe "taking care of it," but that's a tale for another day.

Also, she may not be pregnant.:xf: She had a period last month, and another recently, but it was considerably shorter than usual. I won't go through the symptoms (Don't want anyone to have to pull a Bill Frist) but she does have a few of them. I told her to wait a week, then get a home preg. test.

Members don't see this ad.

How about she tries a pregnancy test? If she's not in the US and you are how exactly did this happen? ;)

If you can't get a credit card try student credit cards. My first card was a Citi mtvU card that has great rewards. You were probably applying for the wrong cards.