M.D. in Texas with 3.45 GPA undergrad?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Zmy6262

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello! I was wondering if I am a hopeless M.D. applicant with my stats! I am URM (Hispanic )
I have a 3.45 GPA with a strong uptrend for my undergrad (except for OCHEM 1 where I got a C :( ) I am currently doing an SMP in Biomedical Sciences and do think I will finish with a 3.8 or above. I am also studying for my MCAT right now.
Here are my other attributes:
Great LORs from 2 research lab PIs
Great LOR from Doctor who was also a Colonel in the Air Force
Just finished a pub, but I am not the lead author, no poster
Volunteer for a Crisis Line
Scribe Trainer for wound care, also have experience in Emergency, Endocrinology, Psychiatric and Specialty
Shadowing in Physical Therapy
Volunteer for Salvation Army
Please let me know what I should focus on/modify for my application! I really want to apply May of 2023.

Members don't see this ad.

How many hours of physician shadowing do you have ? How many hours of clinical volunteering/employment with patient contact ? What about your hours for each non clinical activity ? Are you fluent in Spanish ?

Hello! I was wondering if I am a hopeless M.D. applicant with my stats! I am URM (Hispanic )
I have a 3.45 GPA with a strong uptrend for my undergrad (except for OCHEM 1 where I got a C :( ) I am currently doing an SMP in Biomedical Sciences and do think I will finish with a 3.8 or above. I am also studying for my MCAT right now.
Scribe Trainer for wound care, also have experience in Emergency, Endocrinology, Psychiatric and Specialty
Please let me know what I should focus on/modify for my application! I really want to apply May of 2023.
Keep on doing your best in the SMP, that will help you quite a bit. Does your SMP incorporate MCAT study prep in its curriculum?

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)