Lying on a CV

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Psychology 76

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

Recently in one of my classes we worked on our CV's. I noticed several people put down Psychology Club in their extracurricular. I've been an officer for 3 years and I know for a fact that none of them have been to a single meeting.

This got me thinking, how do grad school admissions know if a person puts a bunch of fake stuff on their CV? Do they just assume everyone abides to the honor rule?

Members don't see this ad.

They could always check, but I'd assume they generally very rarely find out.

In talking with an admissions representative she said they never check clubs.

Members don't see this ad :)
Well I know clubs are not that big of a deal but I feel like you could make up an entire summer internship and if they never looked into it they would never know..

Hello all,

Recently in one of my classes we worked on our CV's. I noticed several people put down Psychology Club in their extracurricular. I've been an officer for 3 years and I know for a fact that none of them have been to a single meeting.

This got me thinking, how do grad school admissions know if a person puts a bunch of fake stuff on their CV? Do they just assume everyone abides to the honor rule?

I do not think I consider that lying. A lot of people in my undergrad program paid the 5 dollars a year to be in the club and did not attend meetings. They were basically just on the mailing list. Being in a club weighs so little on getting into a graduate program, it would be a waste of the time for a program to check in on something so minor...Lying about being a PI or clinical experience seems like it would be much worse.