Lsu Pm&r

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rivera2k

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
For all those pondering which programs to consider when applying, put LSU on your list of possibilities. I did an away rotation here as a fourth year (drawn by great reviews on scutwork.com) and decided this is where I would be happiest. I'm currently on my third week of my outpatient PM&R rotation and loving life. We have such a great schedule, as an intern I'm finding myself with tons of time to partake in outside interests. And for those looking for procedures, you cannot go wrong here. At the end of my second week I've already performed injections in clinic and have an EMG/NCS under my belt. The fourth years say that by the end, you've done so many procedures you can easily practice interventional physiatry with comfort without even doing a fellowship. The teaching is great and there is ample opportunity to learn, as evidenced by the outstanding scores the past several classes have achieved on their PM&R self-assessment exams (one of the interns last year got one of the top ten scores in the country). Another great thing about the program to me is its greater emphasis on outpatient PM&R than inpatient. In addition, our residents are some of the friendliest bunch out there. I came to New Orleans not knowing anyone at all but was immediately made to feel right at ease and part of the team from the get-go.