Low MCAT score, what are my chances of getting into a DO program

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

esperanta

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
First of all I want to thank everybody who takes their time to read this thread.
I graduated 2 years ago with a 3.47 GPA. I took the MCAT in July and scored 17L( which is very low). I was wondering if I have any chance in getting into DO program. I know that I probably have no chances in getting into an MD program, but I am fine with a DO program. I have about 2 years experience working in a laboratory environment and I have volunteered while I was in school. I really want to go back to school next year. Please help

Members don't see this ad.

Your GPA is fine for a D.O. program but I don't think you'll be getting into a D.O. program with a 17L, truthfully your only choice is a retake. You're probably at least 5 points away before many D.O. schools will even look your way.

My suggestion would be to figure out why you scored so low. Did you not study? Do you have test anxiety? Is english a second language? Then give it another shot, with adequate test prep and strengthning your weaknesses you should not have a problem making yourself a solid D.O. candidate.

Last edited:
Agree with the above post.
To be honest, your MCAT score is terrible. You need to improve on that. You need to figure out why your score was so low. No medical school will take you if they don't know you can do the work. They don't want to take someone who might fail out because it's not fair to the student or to the school. Did you not study? Were you not academically prepared? If you need help studying, take Kaplan or the Princeton Review. They can be very helpful. Buckle down and study - studying for the test will be good practice for medical school.

Members don't see this ad :)