Low GPAs and next steps for applying to dental school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ProspectiveButterfly

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I wanted to share my stats thus far and get any advice on how to increase my chances to get into dental school.
I have a bachelors in biology with very low GPAs (slight upward trend in last two semesters):
cGPA: 2.9
sGPA: 2.5

I have learned from my mistakes as a young college student, and still want to pursue dentistry.
I am now 25 and I know that I cannot apply with these stats. So, I decided to enroll at my local university to do a DIY postbacc. I'm planning to take 30 credits minimum (shooting for only As) of upper level sciences to boost my GPAs before applying; this would bring my cGPA to a 3.06 and my sGPA to a 2.84. I am currently studying to take my DAT for the first time as well.
Aside from that, I have 4 years of experience working at a dental office, 500+ hours of shadowing and 100+ volunteering hours.

Is there anything more I should do?
I would appreciate advice or to hear about your stories in similar situations. Thank you :)

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user
Hello! Preferably you want both your cGPA and sGPA above a 3.0 so you don’t get auto-rejected. If you think you can salvage your GPA with classes go for it! The other option is getting a Masters degree with a GPA of 3.75+. Also - kill the DAT. 23+ would be really helpful in your situation.

Reactions: 1 users
Hello! Preferably you want both your cGPA and sGPA above a 3.0 so you don’t get auto-rejected. If you think you can salvage your GPA with classes go for it! The other option is getting a Masters degree with a GPA of 3.75+. Also - kill the DAT. 23+ would be really helpful in your situation.