Low cGPA, DUI + Incident in class. More details inside.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Abor

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated college with a degree in International Affairs and a 2.67 gpa in 2008. Worked abroad for an American company as well as taught English. I've also traveled to several countries: India, Guatemala, China, Thailand, Cambodia, Malaysia, and enjoyed the diversity and cultures very much.

That being said I decided I wanted to be a physician in the spring of 2010. I came back to school and have been taking pre-reqs since. I've done well; 3.98 GPA. I'm finishing up Organic 2 this semester and plan to take Biochem (2 semester class) next year while accruing research as well as clinical experience. Moreover I want to get my CNA and EMT certification this summer and hopefully be able to volunteer a day or more a week in the upcoming year.

I've also been volunteering in a diagnostics lab at National Jewish 4 hours a week since last August and Chemistry research lab since November for ~15 hours a week. I will start hospice volunteering soon. There is the possibility of getting my name on a publication if I continue working ~15 hours week but I won't count my hens just yet.

Additionally I plan to apply to a SMP after the biochem year is over. Thereby having an informal as well as a formal post-bacc GPAs to buffer the uGPA. I've raised my uGPA from the 2.67 to 3.01. There is no way to raise it further without many more years in college. I plan on taking the MCAT next February and use the score to apply to the SMP as well as med school a year or two later.