This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

swimmergalpal1996

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
x

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hi everyone. I'm relatively new to SDN (I didn't have an account, mainly read threads if I had a quick question). I just finished my junior year at the University of Pittsburgh, and am currently preparing for the MCATs. I've been reading a lot of posts on SDN, and have been starting to feel really confused and doubtful about myself as an applicant. I figure that everyone here will be pretty honest, and honesty is something that I need right now. I would really appreciate anyone taking just a few minutes to read and offer some insight.

I'm a dual-degree student at Pitt, meaning I'll be receiving a BS in Biology and a BA in English Literature. This is one of my most strongest selling points as an applicant, due to this being interdisciplinary work (on which I have presented at a local conference about) and being able to finish 2 degrees in 4 years. However, my main issue is of my GPA. My cGPA is a 3.35, and my sGPA is a 3.0 (assuming that I have done the math for this correctly). Both GPAs have seen an upward trend, but nothing amazing (freshman year- cGPA: 2.9, sGPA: 2.7, current- cGPA: 3.5, sGPA: 3.2). I have extracurriculars (club swimming, english honors society, colleges against cancer, chamber music, etc), leadership positions (marketing for pre med organization), shadowing hours (~150 hrs), clinical experience (~200 hrs), volunteering hours (~120 hours), and research (3 yrs, writing paper now). I have letters of recommendation already as well (2 science, 1 honors program, 2 english, 1 research mentor).