Lots of Questions/Asking For Advice

FireInTheSky

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone, I have several questions. For certain questions pertaining to my college search, I am a Texas resident from a low-income family.

So I'm considering pre-medicine and a major of some sort, of course, as my options for college, and I have been for a while, but I have a few questions. In Texas, what colleges have better pre-medicine advising programs and better science/math classes? Additionally, what would it take to get into some of the schools I am looking for and get scholarships possibly? In-state: Rice University, Baylor University, and if neither of those work out the University of Texas. I am also considering applying to a few out-of-state dream schools (Vanderbilt and Emory), so what advice/opinions could anyone give me there? What types of grades, standardized test scores, and extracurriculars will look best when applying? Also, what are the pros and cons of a small vs. large campus? I am an introvert with little interest in partying, and I plan to be focused on my goals. What research opportunities and things like that will be available to me at a small or large campus?

I am also still considering if medicine is right for me. I know that I don't have to know just yet, but I like to plan ahead of time so that I can make informed decisions when I actually have to apply to college. I'm introverted and I prefer not to talk all the time. Will this be a problem? I can communicate well, though I have a disorder that makes my speech somewhat difficult to understand. Will this hinder my ability to get into medical school and succeed later on? I also have poor manual dexterity and prefer to work with my brain more than my hands, though I do enjoy tactile experiences often, I'm just not coordinated and my dexterity is awful.