Looking to switch careers

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SkyLord

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm sorry if this is a question that has been asked previously, I just have a difficult time reading through all of the posts listed because I currently have Lyme Disease and it's hard to read sometimes.

Here is my situation. I graduated from a trade school almost 10 years ago with a Associates specializing in Computer Sci.

My fiancée and I are both suffering from Lyme Disease and because of the situation that we are in I have decided on becoming a Doctor specializing in Internal Medicine.

Now here is my question, or truthfully MANY questions... What would the best steps to take be to become a doctor in this field? I know I need to finish my bachelors degree, however I find conflicting info from the net advising me as what to do. Some info says to finish my degree in Comp. Sci., take the MCAT and hope to get accepted. While other sites recommend that I pretty much start over to get my bachelors degree and then apply for Med. School. I have been seeing info on getting a degree and pursuing a field in Nursing, then switching to Med. School also. I'm really puzzled as what to do.

Also if I were to take most of my classes online from a school such as University of Phoenix would that hinder my chances of getting accepted to certain Med. Schools?

You see I'm 30 now (31 next month) and I don't want to be 40 by the time I get our of Medical School. I'm just not sure what the correct steps would be to pursue this.

Thank you all in advance.
:):)

Members don't see this ad.

Im not sure how having lyme disease is relevant.