Looking for some good advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

chumbojumbo

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello Everyone,

I am a 3rd year medical student. I am an FMG. I scored 194 on the Step 1. I have done an elective in Diagnostic Radiology and have come to find that I really enjoyed it. However, I must be realistic in considering if I should apply to Radiology residencies. I would like to ask you all, simply, do I have a chance? I know there is no way I can get into a top program, but are there some programs that would give my application a second look and of so, which programs would you recommend? Location is of no importance although I would prefer in the South. Thank you for your help.

Members don't see this ad.

Have you seen the movie dumb and dumber? Remember the part where Jim Carrey asks the chick about his chances of getting with her? When I heard your story, that's what came to mind. I don't mean that as a joke either. You can still apply, but make sure you have a back up plan.

So your telling me there's a chance.......ALRIGHT!

anyone else?

Members don't see this ad :)
chumbojumbo said:
Hello Everyone,

I am a 3rd year medical student. I am an FMG. I scored 194 on the Step 1. I have done an elective in Diagnostic Radiology and have come to find that I really enjoyed it. However, I must be realistic in considering if I should apply to Radiology residencies. I would like to ask you all, simply, do I have a chance? I know there is no way I can get into a top program, but are there some programs that would give my application a second look and of so, which programs would you recommend? Location is of no importance although I would prefer in the South. Thank you for your help.