Looking for some advice on aways

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ENT2020

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I was hoping for some advice given my situation. I have been looking at old threads about away rotations but I don't really see any recent ones similar to my own. I am a 3rd year DO student and scored above 260 on step 1, and around 800 on COMLEX (99.9th percentile), have honors grades in obgyn, surgery, medicine, HP in peds. I have 3 first author publications on pub med so far (one ENT related) and working on more, a poster presentation from a highly involved original research project, and am ranked in the top 5 of my class. I have become highly interested in an academic career during medical school as I love to teach and I love to work on the complicated cases. I know that being a DO puts me at a big disadvantage despite my otherwise seemingly competitive application. I know the historically AOA accred. residencies would be open to me but I would truly love to train at an academic institution. Does anyone have any advice on programs I should consider for away rotations? I would appreciate any other advice as well. Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Just an MS4 applying currently, so take it for what it's worth, but you have a solid application overall. The one catch is the DO. What I would recommend is do aways at places you would like to be a resident. Show them that you are a good fit and put give it 110% to try and impress any faculty. As a DO, I am afraid that is the only way to get into non-AOA residency programs. Unless you somehow have a connection that would make phone calls/emails on your behalf prior to interview offers. It's going to be tough, and next year match rate is be tricky as well given the unmatched applicants this year will likely reapply. I would also prep for a backup specialty, namely Anes or Gen Surg as good options that are more favorable to DO applicants.