Looking for feedback on my application

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pedanon2020

Reaction score
I am currently a senior pre-med student hoping to re-apply this upcoming cycle after applying last cycle. I did not get any interviews this past cycle and I wanted some feedback on what I could be improving on. I did take my MCAT late in august so my application was on hold till september.
Here are my stats and activities:
GPA : 3.73
MCAT : 501
Shadowing: 200 hours in a pediatric clinic, 100 hours in an internal medicine clinic and around 40 in a cardiovascular clinic
Research: One year researching prescription drug abuse
Volunteer: 25 hours at an emergency department, another 25 in a medical unit, 60 hours volunteering at a non-profit organization that is a shelter for teen moms, and around 40 with the march of dimes as a youth leader
Work: Have been a general chemistry lab prep for the past two years, I work at a camp that teaches kids how to code over the summer and in my gap year I plan on working as a Medical Assistant.
Other extracurriculars: I was the recruitment chair of my sorority and have been a prominent member on eboard for my schools hip hop team the past two years.

I am looking for ways to improve on my application so any feedback would be great!

Members don't see this ad.

You'll get better feedback if you use the WAMC template and post this in the WAMC subforum.

Reactions: 1 user
Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
I would highly suggest 2 gap year before applying again (1 gap year to build your application, and the second for applying), speaking from personal experience. You don't have a lot of clinical experience going on (other than shadowing, since adcoms are also looking for direct patient care experience as per https://www.aamc.org/media/18901/download, page 15), and non-clinical volunteering too. I think this along with your MCAT is what is holding you back.