Long-winded journey back to Medicine

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

IlConsigliere

Reaction score
Greetings all,

I was suggested this forum by a friend who is also interested in Medicine. I am perhaps a blatant non-traditional student (applicant as of yet though). To tell my entire story and background is very long, so I will summarise here to keep it relatively short. However, it might end up being quite long anyway. I am deliberately not giving my name nor too many details for privacy reasons.

I am a male born and raised in California, USA. I will turn 33 this year and am mixed-race (this sounds odd, but will be relevant later). I attended the University of San Francisco in San Francisco, California, USA (not to be confused with UCSF, which only offers postgraduate degrees). I earned a BSc in Biology and a BSc in Mathematics whilst at USF. I messed up really badly in my final (fourth) year because I had done a year abroad at a UK university in my third year, and for some reason the classes that I had taken were worth half the credits of classes at my American university. So I had to take six classes in my final year for both semesters, when the maximum available under normal circumstances was four classes per semester. It completely stressed me out and caused me to end up with a final GPA of 2.86. To give an idea of how messed up I was, in one case it was so bad that I was having a timetable clash where I had to complete a humanities requirement. This class was had the exact same time slot as another biology class, so I barely even attended the humanities class. I got a C- in that class mostly since I attended that class only three times in the entire semester, and one time was just for the final project.