Loans & Credit Score

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PAPERCLIP_DPT

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I was wondering if anyone had insight on how graduate student loans (particularly the Graduate Stafford Loan and Grad PLUS Loan) affect credit scores?

During my undergraduate career, I took out loans, but they are currently deferred while I'm in graduate school. I am aware loans taken during your graduate years start accruing interest immediately as opposed to undergraduate loans which remain constant while you're in school.

Has anyone who has taken out graduate student loans notice their credit score affected (due to the accrual of interest)? Would you recommend to pay off the interest on a monthly or yearly basis? Or would it minimally impact my credit score and I would not need to worry about paying anytime soon?

Members don't see this ad.

Hi!
I graduated in a similar situation you are in. I have ~85k in stafford grad loans and grad plus loans, all about 6.8%. no, it does not affect your credit score from what I have seen. Your credit score is something calculated by your credit card company, made by banks to sort of get you in the habit of borrowing money.

It is composed of these things...
FICO's 5 credit score factors
  1. Payment history
  2. Credit utilization
  3. Length of credit history
  4. New credit
  5. Credit mix

Credit scores are compiled of consumer debt. Student loan debt does not fall in the same category.