Loan Repayment Plans

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

deyerlba

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello All! I am a 4th year medical student graduating in May and am now starting to look into the different repayment plans for my loans. I was directed by the financial aid office at my school to a repayment calculator at studentloans.gov (https://studentloans.gov/myDirectLoan/mobile/repayment/repaymentEstimator.action) I noticed that there is a column for Project Loan Forgiveness. What is that exactly? It seems to good to be true that by doing IBR or one of the pay as you earn plans, that you would be "forgiven" for so much money! For IBR, it even had my total amount paid being less than I currently owe! Is that right??

Members don't see this ad.

Hello All! I am a 4th year medical student graduating in May and am now starting to look into the different repayment plans for my loans. I was directed by the financial aid office at my school to a repayment calculator at studentloans.gov (https://studentloans.gov/myDirectLoan/mobile/repayment/repaymentEstimator.action) I noticed that there is a column for Project Loan Forgiveness. What is that exactly? It seems to good to be true that by doing IBR or one of the pay as you earn plans, that you would be "forgiven" for so much money! For IBR, it even had my total amount paid being less than I currently owe! Is that right??

There is currently a program called Public Service Loan Forgiveness that if you participate in an income based repayment plan for 10 years while working for a nonprofit, supposedly you will get the remainder of your loans forgiven. This rule does not go into effect until October 2017 at the earliest, and may change in any number of ways before then (they could reduce the types of employers qualifying, put a cap on the amount to be forgiven, etc).