Little research access, no name medical school-need advice for dermatology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FlashJackson

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi. I'm a 3rd year med student at a community based new medical college with little research access and not much of a significant dermatology faculty. I recently became interested in dermatology but am dismayed by the fact that besides case reports (I am working on one now), I really can't get involved in significant research unless I use aways in the 4th year. I was published in a few basic science papers involving pharmacology in college if that helps anything. My step 1 score is 262, I am among the top of my class I am fairly certain as far as grades but we'll see how i do in my rotations (we don't rank students so its hard to know)- so my grades are excellent and that's the main thing I have going for me. I fear though that I am not going to be competitive without research aside from a case report or two and maybe an away rotation- am I totally screwed? I wish I had known earlier I wanted to do derm but hey, I didn't so that's that. Should I just give up, or what else can I do? What are my odds (I know you guys are probably sick of that question-sorry). Also, someone told me you really can't delay taking the step 2 to avoid getting a lower score and having interviewers see it anymore due to the new ERAS reporting system or something- is that true? I really don't think I can beat my step 1 and have been enjoying letting myself take a day off a week to be happy and enjoy life since step 1s over.

Any advice is appreciated, please don't troll.

Members don't see this ad.