Army List of GMO's in CONUS + states with to obtain easy licenses + civilian intern spouse? Need advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

frugopl

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

Got a bit of a dilemma. I'm a TY intern in the Army with a civilian spouse who's also an intern. If I get into residency at where I'm at right now, then awesome, both of us get to finish our residencies in the same geographical location. If I fail to match, well, that's when the butt-hurting begins I guess in an effort to try to stay together.

Our plan/options:

1. I match into residency at this hospital I'm at. Best case scenario.
2. I fail to match, need to start looking for a GMO. I'm trying to figure out where the GMO's are ahead of time, so we can start cross-matching available civilian residencies with available spots for her so she can try to transfer into residency.
3. If #2 fails, we'd both try to get medical licenses in a state that's easy to do it in. I rank all my GMO spots in that state at the top, we both move to the state (assuming I get in) and she tries to find part-time work at an urgent care/clinic/some hospital.

So, to accomplish this, I'd like to know a.) if there is a list of all GMO spots (not just the one's available this year), and b.) which states have the easiest/fastest licensure process.

I heard VA is pretty quick and easy. Any others? And, any other advice on the situation?

Thanks in advance!

EDIT: Yes, we have a 3 month baby, which is the primary driving force behind this.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Your civilian spouse should try to finish residency regardless (unless you guys have kids and absolutely need to be geographically near each other).

Your civilian spouse should try to finish residency regardless (unless you guys have kids and absolutely need to be geographically near each other).