Lifestyle of an interventional neurologist?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RA1998

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Not that it would be the moment now, seeing that i'm just a med student who did not even get yet into a neurology residency program, but I was quite stunned to find out that there is a fellowship in neurology (you need to pursue more fellowships for this actually, lol), which comes to the "dark side", together with neurosurgeons, interventional cards and all the other specialities with huge compensations and very, very, I mean very awful lifestyle.

"Dude, you keep blithely stumbling over the right answer and not recognizing it. No one is keeping neurologists out of this business. If you do a neurology residency and want to do an interventional fellowship, you can sign right up. You’ll find work easily and be well-paid. But neurologists overwhelmingly don't want to. They became neurologists for many reasons, but leading reasons for a lot of them were A) not liking procedures and B) wanting a job with relatively fewer emergency calls. People nowadays commonly go into cardiology because they like procedures, pressure, and 2am STEMI pages, it’s a crummy analogy to choosing a neurology residency. Neurologists overwhelmingly are not interested in being stroke interventionalists. Hell, most of them aren’t even interested in being stroke neurologists. Neurosurgeons are well-positioned to dominate this field since we already have neurologic care expertise and don’t mind emergent 2am procedures, but there’s not really some secret neurosurgery cabal conspiring to shut down interventional neurology fellowship. The neurologists self-select and very few of them want to do this."- a neurosurgeon responding to a neurologist, I think, interested in pursuing interventional pathway.