Life Insurance: Experiences when purchasing?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Reaction score
Hello All,

First time, long time. I am a trainee but at this stage of my life, it seems to make sense to purchase life insurance (recently married with a little one on the way and I am not getting any younger). I used a WCI recommended agent to purchase disability insurance earlier in my training and the agent was very helpful and straightforward. I feel like I have a disability insurance plan that works well for me. For those who have purchased life insurance, do you recommend going through an agent or trying to research/purchase via insurance companies directly? Similarly, should I wait to be an attending to purchase this (since I do not know what my future income might be)? My gut is saying no to that second question but wanted to see what the community experience was. Cheers!

Members don't see this ad.

There’s no reason to wait. You don’t necessarily need to speak with an agent, but going through a broker is a good idea just to get the best premium.

Reactions: 1 user

Put in some basic info and you will get multiple quotes. If you want to proceed, an agent can reach out to you. All legitimate companies and well known.

Buy term life. It is simple and straightforward. Whole life is inefficient and is basically a fat commission for the agent.

Consider laddering policies.

Get it sooner rather than later to lock in costs and to ensure to health issues spring up that could affect your costs.

The amount should be based on your needs.

For example, I have 2 kids and stay at home wife.

I purchased two $2 million policies. One for 20 years the other for 25 years. If I died, wife could pay off the house and not have to stress about money. With the amount we have currently in taxable and retirement, she and the kids would be okay financially.

Reactions: 5 users
Members don't see this ad :)