Letting residency program you are their top choice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tongtongbravo

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey, I am a medical resident and my significant other is going through pharmacy residency application right now. In medicine, once the interviews are done, we often let our top program know that they are #1 choice. Is this frowned upon in the field of pharmacy?

Members don't see this ad.

ASHP Applicant Agreement said:
I understand that I must not communicate my ranking intentions to any program, and must not request that a program inform me as to how it intends to rank any applicant. I understand further that participating programs must not communicate their ranking intentions to me and must not request that I state how I intend to rank any program. Any statement or other expression concerning how I intend to rank a program or how any program intends to rank me is a violation of the ASHP Match Rules, and in any event is subject to change based on further considerations.

Read more here: https://www.natmatch.com/ashprmp/applregister.html#appagrmt

Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile app

I was very surprised when my (now) ex told me that med students and programs do that, after his #1 program pretty much told him that they're positive he'll end up there, since in pharm school that's a big no-no and may cause a program to not respect you and not rank you.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
I was very surprised when my (now) ex told me that med students and programs do that, after his #1 program pretty much told him that they're positive he'll end up there, since in pharm school that's a big no-no and may cause a program to not respect you and not rank you.

What's the reason tho? professionalism?