This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ramona Flowers

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hi there,

I'm applying for the 2020-2021 application cycle and probably most concerned for the LOR portion. I do have significant LOR options including DOs and MDs I scribe with, employers of the domestic violence shelter I work with (during my gap year), professors who knew me very well/I did research with, and my volunteer coordinator that I work as a sexual assault response advocate for.
One that is notably missing, is a science faculty letter. And I've noticed this is a common ask/requirement/"strong recommendation" for the majority of MD and DO programs.

If it helps to answer for my specific situation, cGPA is 5.58, MCAT (not back yet, but was scoring consistently 511-512 on all practice). I graduated from the honor's college at UA and completed a thesis under a public health lens. I have done some (light, unpublished) STEM research in both psychology labs and in pharmacology, but not enough to be comfortable asking for (quality) LORs, since it was a couple years ago now. I have a lot of experience with underserved communities and in social justice and I think my commitment to disadvantaged populations will certainly show. My minor was Gender and Women's Studies. I have a lot of references and experiences that can speak to that, but I'm not sure it's enough without a science faculty letter. I simply didn't get to know any science professors like that.

I graduated in 2019, which will put me at two gap years total. I know some schools such as Tulane waive the rigidity of faculty letter recommendations for those out of school, but I'm not quite at the 5 year gap required by others.