Learning path

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

wholeheartedly

Epi Geek
Staff member
Administrator
Volunteer Staff
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey folks,

If you don’t already know me from my lurking and occasional posting. I’m a former clinical lab scientist/development tech, former hospital epidemiologist, current epi fellow. I’m not looking for career advising or pathology job outlook info in this thread, just my below question. (I’ve read all the other threads on here so pretty up to date on that other stuff).

I’m curious what it’s like learning path and becoming competent and comfortable with the work. I loved the clinical lab side of things, I’m a very visual person. I really enjoyed histology, thought it was challenging but interesting.

My issue comes in with something I observed as a tech outside my previous tertiary center. I hadn’t done hematology for awhile cuz at the big shop i was in blood bnking then core lab, where we just did automated cbcs/diffs then those that flagged for needing a manual diff got sent up to the heme specialty lab for further review.

At the rural shop I moved to, you do everything. I was a little rusty so I bought a hematology book with a good color atlas, did some online review courses/content for lab techs. I was pretty comfortable differentiating abnormal from normal and all the common cell types. But when I’d run into something really atypical or uncertain during my training period and ask colleagues, I’d ask like 4 people what that cell was, and get 5 different answers. Then the path would sometimes give a different answer than the heme lead and others. I trusted him of course, but sometimes it was like he thought it was a blast too but didn’t want to officially call it. So I never felt confident in what the heck I was looking at with the atypical or rare stuff because there never seemed to be consensus.