LCDC Questions From A Pre-med Student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AveragePerson.Psych

Reaction score
This is my first time posting in the psych forum (hello!)!! I have my M.S. in applied psychology and I want to attend med school. I always have people ask me why medicine when I'm majoring in psychology, well tbh I love both psychology and medicine and I can't seem to let either one go.

Flashback time: I had spoken to a counseling professor at my school and they spoke with me about getting an LCDC. This came about from me telling them life experiences I've had with family and community members that have substance use and from certain experiences in my clinical internship. I've grown to love giving therapy and psychological assessments over the years!

Is there anyone that has an LCDC that can elaborate on any experiences it (the substance use area) has brought them? What would be the best and hardest thing about it from your perspective?

Thank you for your help!

Members don't see this ad.

I'm a psychologist so I can't speak specifically to this degree. But quick Googling suggests that this might be a Texas specific license and limited to substance use specific counseling.

So right off the bat, that tells me people with this degree can't move (unless there are other states that recognize this) and your scope of practice is and will remain limited.