Late Undergrad Career Change Advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

flyingbadger

Reaction score
Hello! I've never posted here before although I've read through a few threads and found some interesting advice in the past. I'm currently a senior Bioengineering undergrad at UCSD who recently decided to go pre-med. To give a little background, I finished my A.S. in Biology at a local CC and will be finishing my B.S. in BioE: Biotechnology in around six months or so. After having a terrible Junior year, I realized that I didn't want to go for a PhD as I had originally intended, but I still want to do something that will allow me to have a positive impact on those around me while utilizing knowledge and skills that I already have. I've gotten mostly A's in my biology/chemistry coursework and thoroughly enjoyed my time in those classes and the opportunity for personal interaction that my pre-medical peers have talked to me about is something that appeals to me. I visited pre-health advisors at my school twice, but I didn't get much out of it. The general consensus I got was that “wanting to change career path at this stage in your education is pretty common, but you have a lot of work to do before you’re a competitive applicant” which is something I am very well aware of.