late interest for Dermatology - do i have a chance (any advice would be appreciated)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

socal4life

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey Everybody:

I am a med student at a Top 10 med school. I have straight high passes during my clinical rotations and am actually doing a year right now dedicated to Radiology research. Clearly, I am not going to be AOA.

I have developed a recent interest in Dermatology. Do I even have a chance to match into Dermatology? Should I even bother? I will not have Dermatology, although I will have unrelated Radiology research publications. Could I make it up with a good grade in an early 4th year Derm elective and away rotations? What kind of board score do I need? And this question is to match into ANY university-accredited Dermatology program.

Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

socal4life said:
Hey Everybody:

I am a med student at a Top 10 med school. I have straight high passes during my clinical rotations and am actually doing a year right now dedicated to Radiology research. Clearly, I am not going to be AOA.

I have developed a recent interest in Dermatology. Do I even have a chance to match into Dermatology? Should I even bother? I will not have Dermatology, although I will have unrelated Radiology research publications. Could I make it up with a good grade in an early 4th year Derm elective and away rotations? What kind of board score do I need? And this question is to match into ANY university-accredited Dermatology program.

Thank you.
Given your academic backround you have the potential to be a serious candidate.The lack of any real demonstrated interest in this field is a problem,your major one.A strong showing during an elective at the right program could make the differece.It cant hurt to do this and attempt to get to know some people,especially in the derm dept of your school.