Laptop/tablet/tech for pre-med/med school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mindfxck

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an incoming third year pre-med student. I have gotten by on an HP laptop for the past few years but am looking into "upgrading" my tech for more vigorous study.

I currently use a samsung galaxy tab 4 10.1" for light academic use and more for personal use. Many med students seem to recommend an iPad instead. There is one person in particular who uses an iPad mini for clinical rotations (keeps it in their coat pocket) but has and still uses an iPad Air 2 that was purchased prior to beginning rotations. I am fairly new to apple; I have been an android/samsung user since 2013 and only made the switch to apple in late 2015 with the iPhone 6s+. Beforehand, I have only had iPod touches.
There are apps available on apple products that are not available on android, however some apps available on both aren't always the same prices...so, I am conflicted between switching to an iPad and just upgrading to a newer samsung tablet (with a stylus, of course). I would like to still be a user of both products, but I am willing to sacrifice losing my first love (samsung haha).

I know for sure that I want to switch to a mac though. I hate windows 10 and apple computers seem to do much more justice than windows computers. I am debating between a macbook air and macbook pro for heavy use (personal and academic).

I am hoping to use these throughout undergrad and med school.

Any suggestions? I am open to all products, not just the ones listed.

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)
essential anatomy is an absolutely essential app for medical school. newer versions of it only run on certain i"whatevers" so you might want to get 1 of those when you get to medical school

Reactions: 1 user