Keep getting B's!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Kimbee

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok, so I am a sophomore. I have taken gen chem, gen bio, and calc 1. I keep getting B's in them. I have straight A's in all my non hard-science courses. I know B's aren't "bad", however they're starting to sink my GPA. Also it's especially annoying because they're all 88-89 %, so I feel like I'm capable of getting an A. I have read a few people on SDN say that the introductory classes are difficult to get A's in compared to higher level biology classes. Have you upperclassmen found that to be accurate? I'm starting my upper level biology classes this upcoming semester. Thanks for any advice!

Members don't see this ad.

Ok, so I am a sophomore. I have taken gen chem, gen bio, and calc 1. I keep getting B's in them. I have straight A's in all my non hard-science courses. I know B's aren't "bad", however they're starting to sink my GPA. Also it's especially annoying because they're all 88-89 %, so I feel like I'm capable of getting an A. I have read a few people on SDN say that the introductory classes are difficult to get A's in compared to higher level biology classes. Have you upperclassmen found that to be accurate? I'm starting my upper level biology classes this upcoming semester. Thanks for any advice!

It varies based on school. I did well in my intro courses and still did well in upper level courses also, however, my grades were lower. Don't think the upper levels will be easy!

Reactions: 1 user
I thought my upper level classes were harder content-wise. However, because of my experiences in my lower level intro classes, I was able to find out how I study and what methods worked best for me. That was what ultimately made me more successful in my upper division classes compared to my intro classes.

Reactions: 2 users
Members don't see this ad :)