Kaplan or tutor? Need to decide quick!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Mistress S

Don't mess with the S
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I took the Aug 2003 MCAT and scored a 29 overall (10 BS, 12 VR, 7 PS). I am planning to apply this year and re-take the MCAT this Aug in the hopes of bringing up my PS score. Last time, I studied on my own using mainly EK materials (review books) and the AAMC tests. My problem was (is) that I am a huge procrastinator, I really only studied in a very half-ass manner until about 3.5 weeks before the exam, at which point it was too late to really address my weaknesses in PS (especially considering that I did basically all my BS review in that time too). I enrolled in a Kaplan course for this coming MCAT, but I am not sure if it is worth the $$ (I am paying for it all myself, and I don't have a lot of money).

I went to the first Kaplan class and I felt dirty (I think they prey on the fears of nervous premeds like myself, for an ungodly profit), not to mention stupid for paying that much money for something I can (theoretically) do on my own. I have only paid a deposit so far, if I don't go to the next class I can still get most of that back but if I don't drop it I have to pay the balance (>$700, which I don't have :( ) by next week. I'm thinking about just getting a tutor instead for PS and reviewing on my own, but I'm scared that I won't improve enough and my app will already be submitted to med schools. :scared: I know questions like this have been asked 1000 times before, but for someone in my situation, do you think Kaplan is worth the cost? I really just want to bring up my PS score a couple points and keep the other scores the same, at least. This seems very doable on my own, especially with the help of a tutor, but Kaplan could provide the structure that I need (given my slacker tendencies). Opinions?