Just humor me...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

xanthines

decaying organic matter
Moderator Emeritus
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I just want someone to humor me and tell me I haven't wasted a large amnount of money...

I applied EDP to my state school and didn't get in. Since I have 3 years of full-time research experience including one paper (5 in the pipes, 1 1st author), I only applied to MSTP programs plus a non NIH-MSTP where I know the graduate director. I applied to 12 schools with a GPA3.48 and 32MCAT.

This isn't a "What are my chances?" thread. Just a "tell me what I want to hear" thread. :)

-X

Members don't see this ad.

xanthines said:
I just want someone to humor me and tell me I haven't wasted a large amnount of money...

I applied EDP to my state school and didn't get in. Since I have 3 years of full-time research experience including one paper (5 in the pipes, 1 1st author), I only applied to MSTP programs plus a non NIH-MSTP where I know the graduate director. I applied to 12 schools with a GPA3.48 and 32MCAT.

This isn't a "What are my chances?" thread. Just a "tell me what I want to hear" thread. :)

-X

Hey,

Given the fact that you have a solid research background, I think you have good chances. However, you should have some reasons why your GPA is under 3.8. The MSTP student that I worked with and my mentor are both in the review comittee for MSTP applications.From what I learned what they say, genereally there is a cut of for our schools application. But, there are some exceptions. I mean there are tons of schools and I am sure their procedures may vary. I hope you will get into a good MSTP program.

hk

Members don't see this ad :)