Just a question for you Veterinarians/Veterinary students

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JWheeler

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I would like to know if any of you have some tips or pointers for me. I am a 24 year old male college student at California State University, Fresno. I just started the long path to becoming a DVM, and would like to know what I can do to improve my chances of being accepted into a Vet school. I have an A.S. Degree which isn't much and have just started taking the required classes to get into Vet school. Currently i have a 3.4 GPA (i know its not the greatest) and i was a Veterinary Technician for 5 Years after high school. My issue is I suck at Chemistry, but know a tremendous amount about being a DVM and small animals in general. I've sat in on 1000's of surgeries, casted/splinted limbs, x rays, pulled blood, urinary/intravenous catheters, just everything that is involved with the Veterinary field, and even got to neuter my dog! But i can't understand Chemistry if my life depended on it! I just left my Chem class where i did poorly on a big chemistry test which prompted me to hop on here and seek some support lol. What are the chances or what should i do to improve my ability to be accepted into a vet school preferably Wisconsin State University, Madison. I have the AVMA handbook of requirements, but i was just looking for additional things that will help persuade and show the schools review committee just how serious and important this is to me. I appreciate everyone for taking the time to read this and help me out! Have a great St. Patricks day!

James

Members don't see this ad.