July 2018 NAPLEX Experience

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

notmyrealname2018

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I found these posts really helpful when studying for the NAPLEX so I thought I'd share my experience:

Materials (not for sale):
RxPrep 2018 book
RxPrep test bank
RxPrep video lectures
tldr pharmacy (antibiotics, HIV, etc.)
Minimalist Pharmacist blog
PreNAPLEX x 2
MedEd practice NAPLEX x 2

About me:
Average student (~3.5 GPA) at a well-regarded public school, 98th percentile on PCAT, 78th percentile on PCOA as a P3, working in retail

Studying:
I started studying casually in January 2018. I had a boring hospital rotation so I started reading the RxPrep book and watching some lectures. I also studied ID and the background chapters (nonsterile compounding, interactions, adverse reactions, etc.) for a few hours most Saturday mornings.

I kicked my studying into higher gear in June. I was working part-time so I spent a few hours some days reading the book and watching lectures on topics that I found difficult. I also did some of the RxPrep quiz banks. I typed up reviews of a lot of the chapters and/or made handwritten charts. I found Quizlets to be really helpful for learning brand/generic names. I studied for 6 hours a day for 5 days leading up to my exam and then did not study at all the day before. I did the math problems in the RxPrep book twice in total and the stats quiz banks once. I didn't get around to doing the math quiz banks. I took the PreNAPLEX twice and worked through both of the 250 question MedEd practice tests.

NAPLEX: