jobs before pharm school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

candle786

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Is it preferred that I have a science related job before I apply for pharm school?I'm a recent graduate and my dilemma right now is that I am having a hard time finding a decent paying science related job. If my goal is to attend pharm school in a year and a half, would it be best for me to find a good job that is not science related, but will pay well, so I can save up or is it better for me to make a sacrifice in pay for a job that doesn't pay well but is science related. Both options are not directly pharm related ( I will work or volunteer at a pharmacy on the weekends). I have a good opportunity to work for a decent paying company but I feel as though I should be doing something related to science (lab work, healthcare, etc.), especially since i just graduated with a bachelors in bio. If i don't take that job, then I will most likely work as a temp somewhere until a job comes through (I will have to leave my currect job at the end of this Any advice is helpful.

Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

The end of the previous message should read, "I will have to leave my current job at the end of this month." Basically I just want to make sure that having a job not related to the medical field is ok as long as I have some pharm related experience.

If you're already a BIO major you should work doing what you just spend 4 years studying...what's the non-science job-accounting? I don't know what state you live, but you can try going to a personnel service that specializes in science or check with any personnel company that has an area for your specialty.

Members don't see this ad :)