Job market in the Southern states

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NicolasAngel

2+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Note: This might be a long read for some, so please bear with me.

Hi, I am an international student considering the pharmacy field. I have done a lot of research on the forum and the pharmacist forum on indeed and have seen a lot of drama about unemployment for current grads with nearly/over $200K in loan. This has impacted my decision a lot, and while I have really good stats to go to a pharm school, I still have the knowledge and skills in video editing (2 years of work study for the school), entry-level programming in Python, R, and statistics background to fall back on. My parents are expected to have their immigration papers accepted sometime in the next 1-2 years, so I would like to work somewhere near them in Arkansas, assuming I found any at all. Does anyone have any ideas about the pharmacy job market in the Southern states? I looked online on indeed and monster and found a bunch of postings, but then I also saw some people on SDN claiming that the majority of postings are there for the purpose of funding or legal work. Would be great if someone could elaborate more on this.

Thank you for your time.

Members don't see this ad.

Your entry level coding won't take you far, unless you actually can deal with linear algebra and statistics at the measure theory level. That's basically the level now required for entering MPH candidates in the quantitative.

I take it that you're probably British, so I'll explain the postings in NHS Trust language. Most positions are Band 2 or higher if they are legitimate positions at all. Most are not, one purpose is for continuous evaluation for unsolicited applications to be considered legally as it is insider hiring without a position. Civil Service posts them to count the position as occupied even though HR won't allow a hiring.