Italian Medical Schools

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jrouwhorst

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm an American undergraduate and I'd like to become a physician. My GPA is low due to one years worth of horrible grades. Nonetheless, I'm more interested in attending foreign medical schools (as luck would have it) than being in the states and an education in Italy would be awesome.

How competitive are seats in an Italian program. I noticed that you can only apply thru the consulate, (and thru them, to only one school) and that you must have a minimum GPA of 2.98. Would having this GPA and meeting the other requirements guarantee admission, or only guarantee consideration for admission?

Also, I was wondering what the average cost of tuition is for an entire program (assuming that all programs are 6 years in duration).

Thanks for any information

Members don't see this ad.

I personally have not come across info on Italian Med schools....that's probably because I haven't really been looking!

However, this website may be useful for any info that you may be looking for because it lists all med schools in Europe:

http://www.iime.org/database/europe/

There have been posts in the past about this... I remember bc I looked up all the info for one of them... so if you do a search you might find them.

Anyway, entrance can be competitive in Italy. Especially in the larger cities. I know that as a minimum, you need to be able to speak Italian fluently and you need to sit the test (I believe that each city has it's own test).