It was suggested that I post this here also, thanks.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

BeatTheBishop

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, it was suggested that I post this here also. I hope I can get some ideas of where to go from here. Thank you.

A lot of reading but please bear with me.

Hello everyone!

I would like to start out by saying thank you to the SDN Admin for a great forum and to all who post here, I have learned a ton, thank you.

I'm hoping to get some feedback on my situation, I've gone through hundreds of threads but nothing seems to fit me. I just turned 40 and have always dreamed of being a Doctor in the communities where I grew up. My background is a little out of the ordinary but thats not always a bad thing.

My mother was Amish (half Dutch half French). My father was a full blooded Lakota Sioux. He was also a itinerate welder who couldn't work on high buildings because of his drinking. He came through the area in spring to weld farm machinery and they met. A few months later I showed up.:cool:

I was raised Amish but spent most summers and other times on the Pine Ridge Reservation. Neither one of the communities I was raised in valued education. I even have a small scar on my lip where my Amish step father beat me with a horses bridle for asking if I could go to High School. When my Mother passed away I was allowed to live with a Mennonite family where I could attend High School. I did very well, even got a 1550 SAT.

At 16 I petitioned and was chosen as the Pastor of my community, young yes, but not the youngest. I later Became the Bishop for several communities hence my screen name. Shame on you for thinking dirty:laugh:

OK, now some background.

At 14 I started a non profit agency called AloneCare. This was to help elderly and isolated people on the reservation get medical care. This continues to this day.