Is working as a CNA enough HCE for PA school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

captain_crunch

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently a biology major and I work as a CNA during the summers, which I've done for the last two years. As of now, I have probably 6-7 months of full-time experience. After next summer, I should have 9-10 months. My question is this: how many hours do I need to be COMPETITIVE for entry into the average PA program? And is working as only a CNA, rather than an EMT or something else, going to hurt my chances?

Members don't see this ad.

Every program has their own standards, and they usually will tell you on their website what the minimum requirements are. Websites that are really helpful are ones that give you a breakdown of the stats of applicants that are accepted. From there you have to basically eyeball the landscape to make a guess as to where you stand. If the published minimum hours are like 500 hours of hands on work at a minimum of CNA level, and a 3.0 gpa, but their stats page says that accepted applicants typically had 2000 hours, and an average GPA of 3.8, then you know that to have a real chance at getting in, you probably need to come close to the numbers of the folks accepted. There's no way for anyone to tell you what your chances are based on your question because we aren't privy to the schools you are applying to. But don't make us privy to them, just go to the school's pages and do a little research yourself and dig in. It's actually rare to not be able to find out that info on your own between websites and simply calling the school. But since calls are disruptive, most schools save a lot of trouble and make an effort to spell things out for potential applicants.