Is VA ambulatory care saturated?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bluebird1726

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
just wondering since i heard some clinical residency areas like critical care are really saturated

Members don't see this ad.

Just my perspective, but I would say generally that all VA positions are pretty saturated relative to non-VA positions.

I think for which departments are more/less saturated depend on the market/geographic area you are talking about as is true with just about any other industry/field. I think you will find generally too that outpatient roles tend to be much more sought after compared to inpatient roles.

To answer your question directly, I would say yes. But I would say they are more on the side of constantly filled. I have had some experience at a VA hospital and after speaking to other outpatient pharmacists, I have learned that many pharmacist start and end their career at the VA because of the work-life balance, level of comfort and amazing benefits.

But if you are truly looking for ambulatory care pharmacy and federal hospital, consider the Indian Health Services (IHS), they are constantly recruiting pharmacist (of course in certain geographical locations).

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Yes. The VA as a whole is a hard system to get into if you are not already a federal employee/intern or resident. All federal jobs give preference to veterans and current employees. There are occasional openings and you can check those on USAjobs.gov (I think?). If you are a new graduate, I would agree with ^ & suggest looking at IHS as a stepping stone if there are no openings you qualify for. GS-11 may employ new pharmacists. GS-12 and higher typically require experience.