Is this schedule too hard?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Is the double major schedule too packed?

• Total voters

CUBuff2019

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi! I am a first semester freshman at CU Boulder. I met with an advisor in a program I am in, and they made me create a tentative 4 year class outline. I am majoring in biophysics, but am considering double majoring in biochemistry. I'm posting both schedules, and I need some advice if the double major schedule is doable or just too loaded. I graduated HS with a 4.4 GPA and consider myself to be smart lol! I am incredibly passionate about physics and its biological applications, and biochemistry adds to this. I am pre-dental but would like to apply to a DDS/PhD program, or even an MD/PhD program if I find research that relates more to the medical field. I'm currently taking bio and gen chem and am getting A's on all the homeworks and the last exam. Thank you!

SINGLE MAJOR- BIOPHYSICS

Freshman

FALL- 14 CREDIT HOURS

General Biology 1 w/ Lab- 4

General Chemistry 1 w/ Lab- 5

Advanced First Year Writing- 3

Intro to STEM Research- 2

SPRING- 15 CREDIT HOURS

General Biology 2 w/ Lab- 4

General Chemistry 2 w/ Lab- 5

Calculus 2- 5

MASP Class- 1

SUMMER- 4 CREDIT HOURS

General Physics 1- 4

Sophomore

FALL- 18 CREDIT HOURS

Organic Chemistry 1 w/ Lab- 5

General Physics 2 w/ Lab- 5

Calculus 3- 4

Psychology- 3

MASP Class- 1

SPRING- 17 CREDIT HOURS

Organic Chemistry 2 w/ Lab- 5

Foundations of Modern Physics w/ Lab- 4

Differential Equations w/ Linear Algebra- 4

LGBT/Feminist Studies- 3

MASP Class- 1

SUMMER- 6 CREDIT HOURS

World History- 3

Philosophy- 3

Junior

FALL- 12 CREDIT HOURS

Classical Mechanics & Mathematical Methods 1- 3

Genetics- 3

Russian Fairy Tales- 3

Survey of Biochemistry- 3

SPRING- 12 CREDIT HOURS

Classical Mechanics & Mathematical Methods 2- 3

Principles of Electricity & Magnetism 1- 3