Is this enough?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Pribor

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I’m currently considering a career in clinical psychology. I graduated with a bachelor’s degree in philosophy in ’07 near the top of my class. Unfortunately, I didn’t take any psych courses during undergrad, and I would have to start out pursuing a master’s degree first to shore up my vast inadequacies (in terms of course work, research, etc.).

Reasons why I’m interested in psych:

-. .I’ve been working with an LCSW for the past three years and she has significantly improved my quality of life. I really value the time I spend in session with her.
-. .I took Intro and Developmental psych in the summer following my graduation, and I really enjoyed both of them.
-. .I was introduced to cognitive psychology during an Intro to Cognitive Science course and I found the subject fascinating.
-. .My interest in philosophy tended to revolve around metaphysics and epistemology—specifically about questions of the self and identity.

My question is this: Is this experience and information an accurate predictor of what can be expected in a clinical psych degree? Is it enough to decide a career path? Given my career and financial goals, I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t be satisfied stopping with the master’s degree, so by starting this path my ultimate goal is the PhD. I’ve always been a really strong student, so more years of school don’t scare me. But I am hesitant to start down this long path on limited experience and information. There is, after all, always law school.

What do you think?

(Related question: Do I even have a shot of getting into a master’s program with this background?)

Members don't see this ad.