Is rural clinical psych in demand the way psychiatry is?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

goatcrossing

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a college student, currently premed psychiatry hopeful, thinking about switching over my goals to Clinical Psych Ph.D. but still mulling it over.

One big selling point for me about going into Psychiatry is my desire to live somewhere rural when it's all said and done-- set up a PP, do a little therapy too, etc. I've heard that rural areas are hurting for psychiatrists and so you can find more favorable employment arrangements, no shortage of patients, leading to bigger and easier money, or so the legend says.

Does the same hold true for clinical psych? Most of the higher earning jobs I'm finding in the field seem to be attached more to major institutions like the VA.

Members don't see this ad.

One way to qualify demand is average salary. In my region, the median psychologist takes home 75k.

The short answer to the question is yes. The longer answer for both professions is that it is complicated. There is increased demand for all mental health services in rural areas. The number of people in those areas that can afford services you may want to provide at the price you want will differ.