Is Pharmacy worth it?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

BillyBaggins

Reaction score
Now, you probably get many posts like this but I would appreciate a detailed response on some of my concerns. I've been working as a medical scribe at a Pulmonologist's office since 2017. I became a scribe because I wasn't sure if medicine was for me. I graduated from a top 30 school with a cGPA of 2.65, prior to this job, I volunteered in patient care at a local hospital. My time as a scribe has exposed me to a lot of asthma pumps and biologics which is where my interest in pharmacy originated. I applied to the UCI Pharmacy Post-Baccalaureate and was recently accepted. With all that I've been reading about the field of pharmacy, I'm not sure if it's worth doing the program at all or going to pharmacy school as a whole. Should I just go for PA or MD. What are your thoughts?

Members don't see this ad.

If my pharmacist friends and I were to do it all over again, we would have gone to PA school. Better not wait too long. Eventually, all healthcare professions will be oversaturated except for medical doctors.
As for UCI, I'm surprised why they would open up a pharmacy school. That's where I did my undergrad. FYI Oranges County has been oversaturated with pharmacists over a decade ago. It's not easy to find a job there unless you're okay with being a floater for the rest of your like or take a major pay cut. Not to mention that the OC had the highest cost of living.

Reactions: 1 user
Pharmacy is saturated and not worth the investment, unless you want a ton of debt with less than stellar job options. You're not competitive for MD or PA school with that cGPA. You need to sit down and have a conversation with yourself on what you really want to do in life that's realistic and pursue that.

Members don't see this ad :)
Short answer: definitely no