is my mcat score too low?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

is this mcat too low?

• yes, it is too low

• no, it's not too low

• in between

Results are only viewable after voting.

SideShade

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I got 127/123/127/124..
overall 501 /56% percentile

I did very bad on the CAR and psych section.
I was wondering if this is too low for podiatry school or not

I have around 3.8 cGPA/ 3.95 sGPA (biology with chem minor)
I have done volunteering, both clinical and non-clinical (i think combined is like +200 hours)
I have done some shadowing (MD though, couldn't find DPM, around 30hours)
I have done research (genetics lab, around 1500 hours, and I'm a second author of a paper)

I would greatly appreciate it if anyone would give me some feedback, whether or not this mcat might be good enough or not

thank you

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)
If you do some DPM shadowing then you'll be able to get in anywhere

Reactions: 1 user
@SideShade

You're being neurotic man.

With those stats you've got shots at DO. With a 506+ you've got MD ii.

Any particular reason you'd rather go DPM instead?

Just trying to be up front with you bud.

@SideShade

Foot fetish probably.

Reactions: 1 users
You need to consider post-bacc to raise your gpa.

Reactions: 3 users
If you do some DPM shadowing then you'll be able to get in anywhere
@SideShade

Well I wanted to work with diabetics even before deciding whether or not I wanted to be a nurse, physical therapist, MD, DO, DPM and etc.

MD went out the window after MCAT,
DO seems iffy because I did poorly on 2 of the sections,
I can't get into physical therapy program unless I go back to University and take couple more classes (I've graduated with BA already), same with nursing.

DPM, to me at least, seems like the only reasonable choice to achieve my goal of working with diabetics.