Is MPH worth tuition?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

songbird25

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all,
I'm an undergrad student right now and I took three years off of school because of health problems, so I'll be graduating when I'm 25. I'm a health management major and really interested in Public Health, and I have been able to keep a solid gpa and everything, so I think I would like to work towards a solid grad program for my MPH or Masters in Health Policy and Management.
I looked at Harvard and Michigan's tuition and both would cost me about 80k out of state for the degree, and I would be 29 by the time I earned it. I'm estimating that I would have to take out about 30-50k for the loans to pay for it, and hypothetically if I get married at 29 I would take those loans into my marriage (I am aware that I am looking way ahead and for the record I tend to be a worry wart). So my question...is this degree worth it? Are all of your MPHs spending money like this? Is the return worth it?
I'd really appreciate some wise counsel on this. Thanks so much.

Members don't see this ad.

with a rock solid gpa, gre score, and work experience, i'm sure you can earn some scholarships from other schools.

o yeah, costs is a factor in choosing a program for me as well.

My line of thinking is that you're that worried about financial stuff, it's probably not worth it in the end for you since you're obviously very concerned about it. Also remember, there's an opportunity cost that's lost, as well. So factor that in. There are options such as in-state public education and fellowships which may allow you to get a degree with subsidized costs.