is medicine worth it if dermatology is all you want?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

LasagnaBoy

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I am an undergrad pre-health sciences major who is finishing up my last semester of undergrad. I have been considering the medical profession, but after doing much research, the only field of medicine I am very interested in is dermatology. Now, I know that it may definitely change later on if I do medicine since I have not even been exposed to the different medical fields yet (which would come from M3 and M4, correct?). But from my observations of doctors at this young age of my life and my assessment of my strengths, weaknesses, and personality, I think dermatology would fit me best. My question is the following: is it even worth going into medicine if dermatology seems to be the only field you are interested in? I hear all about how competitive dermatology is, and this scares me since I would be investing so much money, time, and energy into a single field that is so difficult to get into. While I have not had a day of medical school and cannot accurately judge where I stand compared to everyone else in medical school, I do not believe that I would be in the top 10% of medical students. If I work really hard, I would perhaps make top 30% or even 20%, but I highly doubt top 10%

This is complicated also by the fact that I am very adamant on living in a big city, so I would VERY preferrably want a dermatology residency in a big city. I am a racial minority, and I have had bad experiences living in rural areas where the population is mainly white, which is why I do not ever want to be too far away from a large, diverse urban area.

What are your thoughts?

Thanks for reading this.

Members don't see this ad.