Is it too late to try to attend medical school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted1029825

I am an engineering student. Recently, I have become increasingly interested in becoming a physician, since I really would like to help people and I am fascinated my medicine. However, I'm almost finished with my engineering degree. I've taken a few courses relevant to the medical school requirements, but I still would need to take many. My GPA is 4. I have worked over a year doing research. Other than that, however, I don't have any medically-relevant ECs. I plan on adding the required premedical courses to my schedule and taking an extra semester to make that happen. I also plan to take the MCAT once I've finished the relevant premedical courses. However, I currently have no medical volunteering or shadowing experience. I am very interested in obtaining an MD or MD PhD. Would admissions committees see my transition from pure engineering to medicine negatively (especially since it happened late in college)? Is it too late for my to pursue the goal of becoming a physician? What could I do to maximize my chances of getting to med school?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited by a moderator:
It is not too late unless you are a 60 year old undergraduate.

Given that you haven't had any exposure to medicine or the medical field, it would a good idea to start that as soon as possible to be sure that your gut instinct that this is a good choice for you is correct. Shadowing and working/volunteering in a clinical setting are two things to start doing as soon as possible.